Master copy: Jean Broc “The Death of Hyacinth”

I have, embarrassingly, never painted an old master copy before. I have drawn plenty, but never painted. This one is for Situation and Environment class. It’s Jean Broc’s The Death of Hyacinth, a kind of obscure subject by an obscure painter, but I am considering giving it as a gift to a pagan friend who has Apollo as a patron (Apollo is the taller guy embracing the kid who has just been whacked in the head with a discus.) As always with these class paintings, I did not have a lot of time to do it, and so there are plenty of problems. The values on the bodies aren’t pushed enough, and the rendering is sloppy. Apollo’s fabric is clumsy. I had to reposition the discus. And so on. But overall, I’m happy enough with it. 16″x20″, oil on canvas.

113_graysm.jpg

2 Responses to “Master copy: Jean Broc “The Death of Hyacinth””


  1. 1 Bodhi Girl December 6, 2007 at 5:14 am

    For some reason I can’t leave a post on the “A Pastel” piece. But I had to let you know how beautiful and soulful it is. I wouldn’t worry too much about your talent with pastels. I adore the piece!

  2. 2 nicanfhilidh December 6, 2007 at 9:08 am

    Thank you so much for your kind comment. I forgot to turn comments on for the pastel piece, so sorry about that!


Leave a Reply

November 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 81,435 hits

