Simple still life with full palette

I’m really not thrilled with this one at all, but I am posting it just to get it out there. Constructive criticism accepted! I really had issues with the values on the plastic bottle. I’m a little happier with the metal brush cleaner. The ellipses on the bottle and the brush cleaner could be a lot better. I am happiest with the paint tubes and their cast shadows. 11×14″, oil on canvasboard.

dorothy_7blog.jpg

3 Responses to “Simple still life with full palette”


  1. 1 wrjones July 26, 2007 at 9:54 am

    This is a good effort. I think it might be improved by having that large area above the apple change more in value/color as you move across it. Or, you could crop some of the top so there is not so large an area with no change.

  2. 2 wrjones July 26, 2007 at 9:59 am

    I like the light comming through the yellow fluid. I think the composition might be better with some of the forms overlapping. Also, it would help the painting to vary the color temperature moving across the table top and change the back wall color from the table top even if just slightly.

  3. 3 mongoose1 August 3, 2007 at 8:02 am

    I am not sure what it is, but there is something about the bottle. Perhaps the hue is off just a bit?

    I know the light blue lid is almost the same hue but it doesn’t yell for my attention like the bottle.

    I do like the paint tubes. I also like the composition, it’s interesting and causes my eye to meander through your painting like it would with a landscape.
    Very nice.


Leave a Reply

July 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 81,415 hits

