Heading into the stretch

This is the next to the last assignment for Chiaroscuro class, just completed and turned in. The assignment was to draw a detailed rendering from a photograph, the first and only non-life project we’ve had in that particular class. There’s plenty more that could be done but I hit the deadline. Charcoal again.

dorothy_11sm.jpg

5 Responses to “Heading into the stretch”


  1. 1 TM April 24, 2007 at 2:52 pm

    Wish I had discovered this blog a little earlier (I’m a wetcanvas lurker too). Looks like I’m right in your footsteps, starting AAC in June in the chiaroscuro course you’re finishing up now. Comparing this pic with the one you posted before you went in, I’d say you’ve made a ton of progress!

    Any advice for an incoming frosh? I’m doing the program online (slowly, not giving up the day job) and doing just the one course this summer, fa-626. Can’t wait to get started. I ordered the kit and I’ve already started drawing the heads and trying to get used to them, in anticipation of lots of homework assignments referencing them. 🙂

  2. 2 nicanfhilidh April 24, 2007 at 5:47 pm

    Hi, nice to hear from you! This won’t apply if you’re very experienced with charcoal already, but I’d say the thing that helped me most was watching the video demonstrations on the CDs they send – you should be getting yours soon – and practicing the technique they want us to use, before the class even started. I was never taught to use charcoal in any formal sense, so a systematic approach was difficult at first. If I hadn’t attempted to practice beforehand, I think I would have had more trouble getting used to it than I did. I thought I’d throw it out there.

    Also, pick up William Maugham’s head drawing book. It’s the textbook for his head drawing class we have to take so you’ll have to get it eventually anyway. It outlines their approach to teaching head drawing and if you read through it you’ll know what they’re talking about when they get to the head in the chiaroscuro class.

    Good luck!

  3. 3 TM April 24, 2007 at 10:42 pm

    Thanks for the tips. 🙂 I did actually pick up Maughan’s head drawing book and am working through it now, and really enjoying it. I can’t wait to get started. I’ve got a few recent pieces up on my site that are early experiments with the style, and I can see that being good at it must be really satisfying. Long way to go to get there, but it’s all good. 🙂

    I’ll be interested in pretty much anything you have to say about your experience at AAU, so please do keep posting. Cheers!

    – TM

  4. 4 leverton May 1, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    wow, really wonderful drawing! it looks like patti smith, is it?

    cheers,
    gord
    http://www.gordonleverton.com

  5. 5 nicanfhilidh May 10, 2007 at 11:10 pm

    Hi gord –
    I missed this comment earlier, sorry! Yes it is Patti Smith. 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



April 2007
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 81,438 hits

