Learning color. For real.

On the recommendation of some very accomplished artists on the Cennini Forum, I got a copy of The New Munsell Student Color Set. This is a ring-bound book that explains the Munsell system of color via a series of exercises, many revolving around included color chips. The main exercise is to take the chips and fasten them in their correct places on a series of color charts. You have to figure out for yourself where the chips correctly go.

This sounds tedious in explanation, but I have already learned an enormous amount just by arranging these damn little things. Before, I was always very hazy on the concept of value vs. the concept of chroma (or intensity) but a few go rounds of figuring out where these chips go has cured me right of that. I’ve also managed to start picking up the meaning of the notation system. I don’t imagine myself describing a color as 5 YR 6/10 but in the future when someone else does, I’ll know what it is that they’re talking about.

November 2006
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 81,435 hits

