Dealing with multiple palettes

Right now I have several paintings going, and for each painting there is a different palette. When I paint grisailles, I use only grays. The palette I’m using for these coastal landscapes is different from the palette I’m using to glaze the portrait of Gus. And I’m about to do a still life using yet another palette. It’s started to get wasteful and confusing.

I think I will be getting a stack of those Masterson palette seals. Oil paint keeps for weeks inside one of those if you put it in the freezer. Our freezer is tiny, though, so I don’t think I’ll be doing much of that. However, it would be wonderful to just be able to grab the colors I need when I want to set one painting aside and work on another. I think a trip to the art store is on today’s agenda.

0 Responses to “Dealing with multiple palettes”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

October 2006
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 81,523 hits

