I’m not great at rendering

This is the current exercise I’m doing in my art class. I am to render the form of the apples using five values each for the light side, the mid side and the dark side. The lightest light starts with winsor yellow and white, the mid tone is cadmium red, and the darkest dark is a mixture of alizarin crimson and French ultramarine blue. In rendering I must make it perfectly smooth, as if an airbrush was used. And that is kicking my ass.

In art school before, precise rendering was discouraged. We were told to be bold and expressive with our brush strokes. This perfectly smooth stuff is really difficult for me. I definitely recognize the value in it – once I learn to have a precise level of control over the brush and paint, then I will be more free to do what I want, and this is something I need. But, I’m not above whining about how hard it is in the meantime.

0 Responses to “I’m not great at rendering”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

October 2006
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 81,435 hits

